Monday, November 14, 2005

Video Games Are Fun.

You know? Ever since I've been playing Resident Evil 4... I've felt so much more relaxed. Crazy as that sounds, I seriously think it's the truth. Like, for over a good month or so, I havn't played alot of my games. At all. Yeah, I played at Dan's here and there, but that's a much different atmosphere. I'm talkin sit down in the dark and have a good play my heart out. But last week John let me borrow RE4.. and I realized as I played it.. I thought of nothing. It was just me, my shotgun, and an array of spaniards. It was just so releaving. I never really appreciated it until now. (Laugh at me as you must.. but I know I'm a dork and yes I do love my video games.)

Anyway, ever since I could get on the computer anytime, I've just been using it to fill up my free time.. and don't get me wrong, I love this big ole hunk of hardware as much as the next guy, but if you stare at it long enough doing that same old thing.. you need a break. And, I guess to anyone but me, going from one screen to another would seem pointless.. but it really is a difference, mentally, anyway.. Solving puzzles, Shooting things in the head.. the possibilities are endless. (Now, I know you can play games on the computer.. but let's not get technicle, now...) It's just, in a nutshell... drowning yourself in an imaginative world can be amazingly relaxing.

It seems as though everyone has that medium that does this for them... Some, a good book, others, maybe a good porn. I'm not one to judge. But the point is, everyone needs that thing where they can just sit down and bury their heads. I just never knew video games was my thing up until now. And, I guess subconsciously, it made no difference... but now I've noticed. And it's ironic that it took a month or so of no games for me to.

It's just this kind of thing that pisses me off when people like Jack Thompson get pissed off about violent games. Who fucking cares man, get over it. Games stimulate the mind, not rot it, you dumbass. Yeah, there are of course those who do nothing but, and probably do rot their brain alittle... but their different. If your starring at the same screen for 600 hours in a row, somethings gonna give... But I'm talking about us hard working normal gamers... those who are up for a good game of Paper Mario.. but do realize there are more important things to do in life, so we limit it to our free time. Especially in the wake of massive boredom.

Anyway.. Yeah.. I don't want anyone to think I'm trying to sound all smart and philisophical... I mean, I'm not really sure if you can when your talking about shooting some guy with a pitchfork in the nads with a handgun (Oh my is that entertaining.) I'm just explaining that, if your having a rough time with something.. have alot of things on your mind.. find something to occupie your mind. Something that requires a good bit of attention where you can't think of anything stressful. And, I do realize that may be common sense.. but you'd be suprised.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home